An exceptional career, unanimously acclaimed

Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones received the "Lifetime Achievement Award" in the "2008 European Business Leaders Awards".

L’Oréal Chairman Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones has been honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award by CNBC Europe in its European Business Leaders Awards (EBLA) 2008. The awards are conducted in partnership with the Financial Times and were presented at a gala ceremony in London on 13th March.

Sir Lindsay was chosen for the Lifetime Achievement Award by an independent panel of CEO peers which includes winners of last year’s European Business Leaders Awards, the Editor of the Financial Times, and senior European business commentators, in recognition of his long, distinguished career at L’Oréal and for his outstanding contribution to business growth, innovation and leadership.

This is the fifth year of the EBLA awards – although only the third time that the Lifetime Achievement Award has been awarded - honouring those who are making a difference to business in Europe through their leadership and innovation in their industry sectors. Previous winners include Sir John Bond from Vodafone and Heinrich von Pierer, former president and CEO of Siemens AG.

Sir Lindsay devoted his entire career to L’Oréal, having joined in 1969 as a product manager following an education at Oxford University and INSEAD. He rose through the ranks at the company, serving in executive positions in France, Belgium, Italy and the United States before returning to France in 1984 as Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Vice-Chairman of the Management Committee and L’Oréal Board Member. In 1988 he was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of L’Oréal, and became Chairman of the Board in April 2006 when he handed the reigns to Jean-Paul Agon. He is also vice-president of the supervisory board of Air Liquide and serves as a board member of Sanofi-Aventis and Ferrari.