Renewed commitment for women in science

For the 14th edition of the For Women in Science Awards, UNESCO and L’Oréal welcomed, in Paris, the 15 International Fellows for a week of scientific discussions and dialogue.

  • Die 5 Preisträgerinnen von 2012

    The 5 Laureates and Grant Winners of 2012 with Professor Günter Blobel, Jury President, Irina Bokova, Director-General of Unesco, and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones, President of the L'Oréal Foundation.

  • 10279

  • 10280

  • Prof. Jill Farrant (Preisträgerin Afrika-Arabien) bei ihrer Rede

    Prof. Jill Farrant (Lauréate for Africa and the Arab World) speaks.

  • Auf der Bühne: Prof. Frances Ashcroft (Preisträgerin für Europa)

    On stage: Prof. Frances Ashcroft (Laureate for Europe).

  • Prof. Susana López (Preisträgerin Lateinamerika) bei ihrer Rede

    Prof. Susana López (Laureate for Latin America) speaks.

  • Schönheitsanwendung eines englischen Mannes

  • Prof. Bonnie Bassler (Preisträgerin Nordamerika)

    Prof. Bonnie Bassler (Laureate for North America) with the Director-General of Unesco, the President of the L’Oréal Foundation and the 2012 grant winners.

  • Die fünf Preisträgerinnen mit Irina Bokova und Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones

    The 5 Laureates with Irina Bokova and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones.

Winners of the 14th edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards

The 2012 Laureates in Life Sciences:

  • Professor Jill Farrant, Chair of Plant Molecular Physiology Research, Molecular and Cell Biology Department, University of Cape Town, South Africa.
  • Professor Ingrid Scheffer, Chair of Paediatric Neurology Research, University of Melbourne, Australia.
  • Professor Frances Ashcroft, Professor, Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics, University of Oxford, United Kingdom.
  • Professor Susana Lopez, Developmental Genetics and Molecular Physiology, Department of the Institute of Biotechnology, National University of Mexico, Cuernavaca, Mexico.
  • Professor Bonnie Bassler, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton University, USA.

The 2012 International Fellows:

  • Medical Chemistry: Peggoty Mutai, PhD Student in Chemistry, Kenya
  • Biotechnology/Biochemistry: Gladys Kakhaka, PhD in Plant Science, Namibia
  • Wildlife biology: Johannie Maria Spaan, PhD Student in Zoology/Ecology, South Africa
  • Behavioural Ecology: Kathrin Barboza Marquez, PhD Student in Biology, Bolivia
  • Marine biology: Giomar Helena Borerro-Pérez, PhD in Biology, Colombia
  • Bioengineering: Dora Medina, PhD in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, Mexico
  • Molecular virology: Sidrotun Naim, PhD Student in Environmental Science, Indonesia
  • Marine biology: Zoe Hilton, PhD in Biological Sciences, New Zealand
  • Proteins engineering: Patricia Miang Long, PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology, Singapore
  • Virology: Aziza Hassan Kamel, PhD in Biology, Egypt
  • Cell and molecular biology: Dana Bazzoun, PhD Student in Cell and Molecular Biology, Lebanon
  • Molecular biology and bioinformatics: Emna Harrigua, PhD Student in Molecular Biology, Tunisia
  • Molecular and systemic biology: Naama Geva-Zatorsky, PhD in systemic biology, Israel
  • Molecular and clinic genetics: Elza Van Deel, PhD in Cardiology and Molecular Genetics, Netherlands
  • Molecular microbiology and chemistry: Vita Matje, PhD in Chemistry, Slovenia

Key Figures

  • 5Laureates
  • 15 International Fellows

Expert Section

For more information on this topic, see the GRI data sheets:

The Ethics Charter is the ethical benchmark document at L’Oréal and helps employees integrate the “L’Oréal Spirit” in their daily work. The Ethics Charter is directed at all salaried employees of the L’Oréal group and its affiliates throughout the world. It also concerns all the authorized social representatives and executive committee members, as well as the management of the L’Oréal group and its worldwide affiliates.

The state of L’Oréal policy in 2011, through the GRI reference on governance, commitment and dialog.