L’Oréal announces the creation of a Scientific Advisory Board Research & Innovation

Logo Recherche & Innovation

Clichy, 23 May 2013 L’Oréal announced the creation of a Scientific Advisory Board composed of 9 distinguished scientists from diverse disciplines and of varied nationalities, whose mission will be to bring unexpected ideas pertaining to L’Oréal Research’s fields of interests in order to prepare the future through the exploration of emerging scientific and technological domains. The Board held its first meeting yesterday in Paris under the chairmanship of Jacques Leclaire, Scientific Director, L’Oréal Research and Innovation.

Laurent Attal, Executive Vice-President Research and Innovation of L’Oréal, said, “The establishment of a Scientific Advisory Board is essential and is a first for L’Oreal. It is essential because science is the basis of all our innovations. In a rapidly changing world, the Board’s reflexions will contribute to strengthening the link between science and beauty worldwide, and as such will be an extraordinary source of inspiration and guidance for L’Oreal.”

For L’Oréal, who has always believed in the relationship between science and beauty and who deploys a strategy for the universalisation of beauty, the creation of a Scientific Advisory Board is essential in order to better understand today’s dramatic development of science and technology, the power of the digital revolution, changes in modes of consumption and societal issues.

The Board will meet twice a year, presided by Jacques Leclaire who will lead the Board’s discussions and reflections.

Composition of the L’Oréal Scientific Advisory Board

Pr Bonnie Bassler
Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and Squibb
Professor of Molecular Biology, Princeton University

Pr Thomas Bieber
Department Chairman and Professor of Dermatology and Allergy, University of Bonn, Germany

Pr Vanderlan da Silva Bolzani
Professor at the Institute of Chemistry São Paulo State University, Araraquara Brazil

Pr Elaine Fuchs
Professor of Cell Biology and Development, Rockefeller University, NY

Pr Nina Jablonski
Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, Pennsylvania State University, PA

Pr Dominique Langevin
Director of Research, Laboratory of Solid State Physics, CNRS, University of Paris-Sud, France

Pr Samir Mitragotri
Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara California

Pr Jun Wang
Director BGI (Shenzhen) and Professor, University of Copenhagen

Pr René Wijffels
Chairman of the Bioprocess Engineering Group, Wageningen University, Netherlands


About L’Oréal

L’Oréal, the world’s leading beauty company, has catered to all forms of beauty in the world for over 100 years and has built an unrivalled portfolio of 27 international, diverse and complementary brands. With sales amounting to 22.5 billion euros in 2012, L’Oréal employs 72,600 people worldwide. In 2013, the Ethisphere Institute, a leading international think-tank for business ethics, corporate social responsibility and sustainability, recognized L’Oréal as one of the World’s Most Ethical Companies. This is the fourth time that L’Oréal has received this distinction. www.loreal.com


Press Contact: Catherine Rose : [email protected] / 01 47 56 85 42

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat